Reviews


TRIPADVISOR & SAWDAY’S SPECIAL PLACES REVIEWS 2019

Simply Stunning

A beautiful, peaceful retreat away from the hustle and bustle of the main resorts but within easy reach of many popular attractions. The pictures don't do this place justice, it has to be seen to be believed! Maureen is an excellent host and the cottages are fully equipped with everything you need to enjoy a relaxing, refreshing holiday. We loved watching the sun set over the mountains each evening with a glass of wine and looking out for local wildlife. We returned home feeling rested and relaxed and keen to return again in the future.

 September 2019


  Beautiful Retreat

A beautiful, peaceful retreat away from the hustle and bustle of the main resorts but within easy reach of many popular attractions. The pictures don't do this place justice, it has to be seen to be believed! Maureen is an excellent host and the cottages are fully equipped with everything you need to enjoy a relaxing, refreshing holiday. We loved watching the sun set over the mountains each evening with a glass of wine and looking out for local wildlife. We returned feeling rested and relaxed and keen to return next year.

September 2019


  Amazing Cottages with Superb Views

A superb location with wonderful views and fantastic accommodation. My husband and I were lucky enough to stay in both cottages and both were delightful. The swimming pool and garden is a real bonus and is beautiful. The host Maureen is very helpful and provides a useful complementary welcome pack which is a lovely touch. There are 2 lovely boxer dogs Rosy and Bobby who are so welcoming and well behaved. It really was a pleasure to stay in the cottages, you really do not want to leave this little piece of paradise. Thank you Maureen.

August 2019


  Who could ask for anything more

After visiting Casa Limones and staying in the Olivos cottage for 15 years we said goodbye this August - not that it lacked anything! On the contrary! The years are catching up with us and our trip from New York, but we recommend this beautiful cottage, so conveniently situated halfway between all those amazing beaches and the mountain towns including, of course, Mijas Pueblo itself. We have been delighted with every aspect of this property, whether it means watching the countless changing scenes the mountains assume every day or the wonderful care Maureen takes for every aspect of the ideal get-away. Don't wait to book - we would if we could!

August 2019


  Tranquil mountain hidaway

This is the perfect hideaway for those couples wanting privacy...the views are stunning and the night sky is something to behold...The finca is beautiful...cosy and comfortable full of rustic charm....exactly what we were looking for. The only downside was the pool wasn’t heated...we'd have loved to have used it. Maureen was very welcoming but allowed us our privacy to enjoy our holiday

April 2019
  Christmas at Los Olivos

A great Christmas escape without having to travel too far to find a milder climate. A lovely peaceful location with stunning views. Cottage is well presented and comfortable. Good location to reach Mijas, Marbella, Malaga and Ronda - a little further afield. Maureen was very helpful and always replied quickly.

December 2018

SAWDAY’S AND TRIPADVISOR REVIEWS 2018

Charming, Serene and Perfectly Formed

We found this little gem by accident but so glad that we did! After a 30 minute drive from the Airport following the simple directions that Maureen the owner sent to us, we arrived at our charming accommodation and were greeted by our host and her two lovely, friendly boxer dogs, Bobby and Rosie. Maureen is the true professional and leaves her guests to do their own thing yet is always at hand with a friendly smile if there is a need for assistance.

The amenities at Casa Limones are perfectly adequate with a great shower, large Fridge Freezer, very comfy bed and views to match that of any high-end Hotel but with the added bonus of no loud families, lovely silent evenings and the freedom to come and go as one pleases. The perfect place to re-charge the batteries.

It is located just 15 minutes drive from the charming sea side town of La Cala with its great restaurants and charming shops. Fuengirola is only another 15 minutes drive away with Marbella the next large town along the coast line. Mijas is also a must see town nestled in the Spanish hill side and again, just a 10 minute drive away. Within a couple of days we had a great routine worked out and settled into our wonderful, peaceful, Holiday. Short simple drives to great towns and villages then back to our gorgeous little bolt hole for a glass of wine on the terrace to watch the sun go down.... Perfect!...Just Perfect!!

-Carla October 2018
  Delightful place

We stayed in one of the two one bedroom villas at this peaceful venue. Our villa was well equipped and gave us three different areas to sit outside to eat or enjoy the stunning views and spectacular night sky. The shared pool area was beautifully landscaped giving privacy to each couple.

While there we took advantage of the proximity to Malaga, Marbella and Fuengirola all of which are well worth visiting.

Maureen was a lovely friendly host who gave us the space and peace we were looking for.

We highly recommend this venue if you just want to chill out and relax

-Diana August 26, 2018
  A wonderful week was had by all

This was our second visit to these wonderful little cottages had Casa Limones in 2013? and returned this year to Los Olivos. Maureen made us most welcome, she often asks what you would like in a welcome pack, to which she obliges to the closest requested. We chose Los Olives this time for the never ending views across the mountains where we watched glorious sunsets with a glass or two of a perfect Tempranillo, we managed to explore some of the local restaurants in both Mijas and the surrounding area, a car is required for a stay here, but, ours was only used in the late afternoon and evening I will be returning as it is the perfect place to recharge the batteries, might even try a winter month next time

-Paul June 2018
 

What a wonderful relaxing peaceful place for a holiday. The accommodation is delightful, and the host was extremely helpful. We’ll definitely be returning.

-Bridget, Lincoln Jun 2018
 

Wonderful in all ways. Exactly what we expect from an Alastair Sawday’s recommendation. Maureen is the perfect host and owner. Thoroughly recommend if you want a remote chilled out experience

May 2018 -Malcolm and Jill, Durham

TRIPADVISOR & SAWDAY’S SPECIAL PLACES REVIEWS 2017

September 2017 Would return in a flash! - Tripadvisor

Great few days with a friend in this lovely cottage with stunning views. Great pool just shared with two other people and three terraces. Easy to get to and to travel to other places. We cooked outside on electric grill most nights. Maureen was very helpful and hospitable.


  August 2017 A beautiful retreat in the hills! - Tripadvisor

The pool is wonderful, the views over the hills stunning and the cottage a cool retreat from the heat. Maureen is an excellent host and we would highly recommend spending as much time as possible enjoying this rustic home from home.


  July 2017 Wonderful week at Casa Limones! - Tripadvisor

We returned yesterday from the most relaxing time spent at Casa Limones. A great hideaway in the Andalusian countryside with stunning views.....Simply beautiful. The pool, the views, the weather all made it very difficult to leave to explore the area but when we did we found some lovely places to visit and enjoyed some great food. Highly recommend Casa Limones for a peaceful, truly relaxing stay.


  July 2017 Relax and Enjoy! - Tripadvisor

I spotted these cottages on the Sawdays website, and we had Los Olivos for a week, and Casa Limones for the second! Maureen was very helpful with queries. Both cottages have pros and cons. Los Olivos with its fire would be lovely for the winter months, and it has great sweeping views. If you are a swimmer being next to the pool is great though! We had it all to ourselves the second week as the other couple were not swimmers methinks. I fell in love with Bobby the boxer, sob. The cats are very interesting too. A great place to recharge the batteries and unwind. We don't often go back to the same place, but we may do - perhaps for a Spring break. A great choice!


  July 2017 Wonderful pool! - Sawdays

The pool is wonderful, the views over the hills stunning and the cottage a cool retreat from the heat. Maureen is an excellent host and we would highly recommend spending as much time as possible enjoying this rustic home from home.


  MAY 2017 Great little get-away -Tripadvisor

We have just arrived back to the UK from Casa Limones! What a great little find, absolutely beautiful and the views are amazing. Maureen was an excellent host, so friendly and helpful. The cottage is kitted out with everything you will need, including refreshments for when you first arrive, which I thought was a lovely touch. The beach is only about a 10/15 minute drive away, as is the main town/restaurants. All in all a great holiday and would definitely recommend!


  MAY 2017 WONDERFUL WEEK! - Sawday’s

We had a wonderful week at this lovely place. The cottage was very comfortable, the views are outstanding and it was a real home from home for us.We’d never been to Spain before but will definitely be back to Casa Limones!


  MARCH 2017 GREAT ESCAPE! - Sawday’s

"Great to escape the British weather in the middle of March! Wonderful location and special views with easy access to surrounding towns and great beaches. Maureen is very helpful if required and there is everything on hand at the cottage for every eventuality, really peaceful for a relaxing break, great value for money. Highly recommend, we also had fab weather, want to return for those hot balmy evenings and sunsets that we've yet to experience here."